intense sensations

My next big thing

Posted on: December 5, 2012

Ooh, I saw some of my favourite writers doing a blog about My Next Big Thing, so imagine my excitement when I was tagged to do one myself. The generous tagger was Sarah R. Yoffa, who is also known as Webbiegrrl and writes science fiction under the pen name of Marjorie F. Baldwin.

The point of this is to interview myself about my next book. Gulp! So … onto the questions!

1) What is the working title of your current/next book?

Lure of the Feminine

Lure of the Feminine

It’s called Lure of the Feminine. Here is a sneak preview of the cover.

2) Where did you get the idea for that book?

The idea for the book came to me from someone I met online who asked me for some advice about her love life. She had a very powerful way of expressing herself and she really fired up my imagination. So I didn’t give her any advice at all. Instead I asked her if I could put her in one of my stories. Well, it turned into three stories. One has already been published. It’s called Taste of Her. The other two appear alongside it in this new book. They’re called Alexanderplatz and Appointment With Pleasure. Since these are stories about love between women, I’ve also included another story that I wrote on this theme called The Swimming Pool.

3) What’s the genre of the book?

Lesbian erotica.

4) If you could pick actors to play the lead characters in your story, who would you pick?

That’s very hard. If I were to pick just Alexanderplatz, which is my favourite of the four stories, I would choose Ziyi Zhang and Rachel Ann McAdams.

Ziyi Zhang

Ziyi Zhang

5) How would you describe your book in one sentence (10 words or less)?

Four sexy stories about women expressing  their heartfelt desires.

6) (a) How will your book be published, submitted through the traditional route to a traditional publisher or will you be handling it yourself through Indie Publishing methods?

I’ll be publishing it myself on Amazon.

(b) If you’re an Indie Author, will you be publishing through your own Indie Publishing company or in a collective with other Indie Authors?

I’m not part of any collective. I’m too difficult to get along with.

7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of this book?

rachel_ann_mcadams

Rachel Ann McAdams

Oh, ages. These stories have taken about six months to mature. That’s why I had to publish two earlier as single stories. My fans simply can’t wait six months! They’ve been begging me for more. Sometimes I write very fast but these were written very slowly with much soul-searching.

8) What other books within your genre are similar to yours?

Well, I haven’t read any lesbian erotica like this. I have filched this material directly from life. Perhaps it’s similar in spirit to Colette’s Claudine stories but much more realistic and heartfelt. But see below for a list of links to some authors I like.

9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?

I’ve already answered that question. I’m not going to tell you her name. She’d die if I blurted it out in an interview.

10) What about your book will pique the reader’s interest?

The person telling the stories in this collection is always called Vanessa (or Ness). Readers may wonder if I just ran out of girls’ names or if some of these stories actually happened to me. I’ve written an introduction saying all I’m going to say on that point!  But Alexanderplatz is my favourite story here for a very good reason!

11) Do you know any other fab authors who might like to tell the world about about their next big thing?

Oh that’s easy. Try these for starters:

Guilie Castillo-Oriard

Mark Kirkbride

Leni King

Sweepy Jean

Fulani

Lara B

15 Responses to "My next big thing"

I look forward to watching Ziyi Zhang without her clothes – you should have picked someone with a little more flesh 🙂

But she has very expressive hands, Junying.

[…] honoured to have been tagged by Vanessa Wu as one of the authors she’s passed the ‘next big thing’ torch to. If you […]

Vanessa, I was about to ask… Who does make your book-covers? Who are the people in the pictures? The pictures look professional, which is nice but seems unusual for ebooks by a new, self-published author–or I don’t know anything about you 🙂

Hi Larisa. My book covers are prepared with loving attention to detail by my heavenly flat mate who works for free. I had to use much cajolery and charm to get her to learn Photoshop, which is a lot harder to learn than I thought. The people in the photos would rather not be identified. Some are from photo libraries. Others are friends. (Ex-friends if they find out, ha-ha!)

[…] Vanessa Wu’s Next Big Thing Is Sexy and Erotic […]

[…] by a terrific writer and book reviewer, Vanessa Wu. Please read about her upcoming book on her blog intense sensations. How this works is that I’ll answer 10 questions about my next or current book and tag 4 or 5 […]

Vanessa, so sorry it took me so very long to get on board with this Next Big Thing! Finally my NBT post is up: http://guilie-castillo-oriard.blogspot.com/2012/12/my-next-big-thing.html Thanks again for inviting me to the fun!

AND I *loved* what I learned about your soon-to-come collection! Sounds riveting. Will have to take a look 🙂

Oh! Ha-ha! *Blushing* Ha-ha! 😀

I never knew it was possible to comment on the pictures I use on my blog but Tom Bye managed somehow. I’ll paste his comment here with the link he wanted to include.

Hi Vanessa Wu- That cover of yours should walk off the racks – it just oozes body heat and more to come !! Wait until you read chapters 38 and 39 in my forthcoming Amazon/ Kindle launch, hopefully in the next 2 to 3 weeks- to read 12 chapters for free, just go to irishbooks.net or to search bar- enter title- ‘from hugs to kisses’ and my name tom bye –
Thank you for reading above and hope you will enjoy the story

http://www.irishbooks.net/

Thanks for tagging me for My Next Best Thing Vanessa! Its a huge compliment! As a writer of Lesbian Erotica myself I’m excited to read your short stories when they come out and am looking forward to ‘interviewing’ myself for My Next Big Thing now I finally have a few days to myself…

Great! It takes a bit of time to do this Next Big Thing kind of thing but it’s fun once in a while. 🙂

My stories are now out by the way but I’m kind of low key about publicity. LOL.

Looking forward to reading them! Thanks for all your support and encouragement.

Do you have something to get off your chest?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26.6K other subscribers