intense sensations

How to write hot erotica

Posted on: November 22, 2012

The Age of Innocence (Oxford World's Classics)The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’m feeling altruistic today so I’ve decided to share a secret.

Oh, all right, that’s a lie. I’m not altruistic I’m big-headed. Someone just wrote this comment on my blog:

Vanessa is the greatest writer of this sort of contemporary genre.

It’s in reference to my story Black Silk Blindfold.

What, you might wonder, has this to do with Edith Wharton’s Age of Innocence?

I’ll tell you. If you want to become a great writer in any genre, you have to read great books and this is one of the greatest books ever. Can you believe there are people reviewing this book on Goodreads and not giving it 5 stars?

This book is sheer genius from beginning to end. It’s one of the books that inspired me to become a writer. The dialogue is simply thrilling. I’ve always wanted to have conversations like the ones in this book. I try, God knows I try, but I keep ending up with the wrong sort of men.

In addition to having great dialogue, this book has Edith Wharton’s precise, polished, beautifully understated prose. She has one of the finest minds in the universe but she pays you the tribute of letting you draw your own conclusions. She never hits you over the head with her ideas. They emerge, clear, compelling and irresistible from her brilliantly constructed scenes.

So throw away all those how-to books. If you want to write hot erotica, this is the book you need.

5 Responses to "How to write hot erotica"

I remember seeing the Scorsese adaptation eons ago, in some film festival in Mexico, and I loved it. But, somehow, the book has never come to me. I’ll have to look for it next time I’m in a civilized bookstore. Thanks for the recommendation!

Oh, thank you for the comment, Guilie. I was going to write something about the film, too, but I forgot. Haha. Maybe I will do it next time. Oh, I will say it now. The film isn’t the same. You have to read the book. The words are important. The words are very important. It annoys me when The Guardian (bookish newspaper) runs a story about a book and shows a picture from the film. The film is not the book! But thank you for the comment, Guilie! It’s heart-warming to know you are still reading my blog!

No, totally agreed–there hasn’t been one film that I can say I enjoyed more than the book. Even the Bourne series I’m pretty sure is better read (although I haven’t, or will I, haha). And especially in this context, when it’s the language that creates such memorable impact. I can’t wait to read it 🙂

Forgot to say–of *course* I’m reading your blog! One of my favorites ever 🙂

Do you have something to get off your chest?

Books by Vanessa Wu

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30,178 other followers

Twitter

