intense sensations

The best cure for self-abuse

Posted on: November 18, 2011

High Spirits: A Collection of Ghost StoriesHigh Spirits: A Collection of Ghost Stories by Robertson Davies
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

One of my big regrets in life is that I haven’t read enough of Robertson Davies’s novels.

He is one of the writers I discovered for myself in my lonely journey towards literacy and, not knowing anything about him or the literary tradition to which he belonged, I found it very hard to prioritise his novels in my many long lists of books that I wanted and needed to read.

I discovered later that it’s because he’s Canadian. Ah, you see, we didn’t have WordPress when I began my long literary journey, and the English influences that I encountered were very parochial.

I should have had more confidence in my own judgement and relied less on English academic literary criticism. A lesson all students of literature should take to heart.

Luckily I can console myself for this neglect by picking up this slim volume of ghost stories and read one a year, which is how they were written.

They are hilarious. Hilarity is the best antidote to lugubrious literary self-abuse. The stories are also intensely literate and being able to understand the humour makes me feel unusually well-read.

Vanessa Wu has a new story out called Black Silk Blindfold

Do you have something to get off your chest?

Books by Vanessa Wu

Lure of the Feminine

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30,176 other followers

Twitter

