intense sensations

An old-fashioned English romp in the hay

Posted on: November 14, 2011

Cider with RosieCider with Rosie by Laurie Lee
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I asked my boyfriend if he had ever been physically aroused by a work of fiction while reading on a bus or train.

“Oh, many a time,” he said.

“Really? Did you get an erection?”

“Yes, of course. Isn’t that what you meant? It doesn’t happen so much now,” he said.

“Because you are cynical and you’ve seen it all before?”

“Partly that,” he concurred. “But also because my blood is more sluggish and I have lost the vigour of youth.”

“When was the last time you got an erection while reading in a public place?” I asked eagerly.

“When reading your last email to me,” he said without hesitation. He’s a pretty quick-witted guy, actually. That’s why he’s my boyfriend. :)

“What about the first time?” I asked. “How old were you?”

“Oh, I didn’t need books when I was in the first flush of puberty,” he said. “I used to get an erection on the bus just looking at all the pretty schoolgirls going up and down the stairs.”

“You’re a pervert,” I said.

“But the first book that made me miss my stop because I was unable to leave my seat due to the large bulge in my trousers was Cider With Rosie.”

“By Laurie Lee?”

“Indeed. That old English classic. It’s a rural idyll. And you can’t have a rural idyll without a romp in the hay so why they give it to pubescent boys as a set text at school I’ll never know. It’s like putting a stick of dynamite down their pants.”

“Dynamite?”

“Well, you know what I mean. I looked like I had a stick of dynamite down my pants when I got off that bus anyway. And then we had to write our own memoir in a similar vein. The teacher even gave us the title. The First Bite Of The Cherry. And you call me a pervert.”

“That’s a public school English education for you,” I said.

“Exactly,” he said. “It’s astonishing I turned out normal.”

“If you were normal you wouldn’t be able to satisfy me,” I said.

But that’s another story altogether.

Vanessa Wu has a new story out called Black Silk Blindfold

2 Responses to "An old-fashioned English romp in the hay"

Your reviews are so good :)

This is a wonderful story in itself.

Ah, if I had no children or internet, I might be able to start reading all your inspiring recommendations.

LOL! And when I’m done with all this internet admin and barking at my flatmate I’m going to get my hands on one of your lovely stories and have a moment of spiritual inward reflection.

Do you have something to get off your chest?

Books by Vanessa Wu

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31,131 other followers

Twitter

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31,131 other followers

