intense sensations

A dark vampire lover who needs to get out more

Posted on: October 28, 2011

Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #1)Dark Lover by J.R. Ward
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This is the first of a popular series but I didn’t like this book at all and won’t be reading any more. The author writes very breezily and she is plainly out to have fun with a hackneyed genre but I couldn’t even like the book on its own terms.

The author would probably say I’m a snob and a dilettante who has her head up her own ass. I admit I have delicate sensibilities. There’s nothing I abhor more than a lazy imagination.

The main character in the book is called Wrath. He’s a vampire. A pretty important vampire and a nasty piece of work to boot. When asked to do a favour for a friend he refuses.

“If it had been anyone else, Wrath would have used his favorite pair of words: fuck and off. As far as he was concerned, there were only two good positions for a human. A female on her back. And a male facedown and not breathing.”

You don’t have to read much more to realise this book is going to offer few delights. There are so many ways to ravish a woman. There are so many ways to kill a man. A vampire who can only think of one in each category is a bit wet behind the ears I would say.

No, no. I like it darker than this. Darker, dirtier and more ingenious. I’ve met vampires who could crush the grapes of Wrath.

Vanessa Wu is the author of Love Has No Limits

2 Responses to "A dark vampire lover who needs to get out more"

Ahahha, but worth it for your punchline :)

Thank you for the linky. I love my tumblr, it makes me happy.

Hehehe!! :) Your tumblr makes a lot of people happy, Vida.

Do you have something to get off your chest?

Books by Vanessa Wu

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31,929 other followers

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31,929 other followers

