intense sensations

The Salvador Dali of Prose

Posted on: October 21, 2011

Endangered SpeciesEndangered Species by Gene Wolfe
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I think it can be very dangerous to give high praise to authors like Gene Wolfe. Fortunately, there aren’t many authors like Gene Wolfe.

I believe the title Endangered Species is meant to refer to the short story form. I remember reading that somewhere but I can’t remember where. I’ve had this collection of stories a long time. I’ve hung onto it in spite of throwing away hundreds upon hundreds of other books. So I think perhaps that Gene Wolfe himself is more of an endangered species than either his stories or the short story form.

The reason it’s dangerous to praise him is that he is good in a way that few people ever can be. Seeing him praised, lesser writers might attempt to copy him. They would almost certainly copy the wrong things and write badly as a result.

One of his gifts is to do the unexpected thing. I don’t mean he will give the story a twist at the end. I mean he will give the inspiration for the story a twist. And then perhaps another twist. Until he arrives at something sufficiently unusual to engage his imagination.

And then he will write out the story in his inimitably precise, pedantic and quirky style.

He can be meticulously literary and self-conscious at times, vain and yet somehow still startling, like the Salvador Dali of prose. But he can also be much more clever than this. He can write simply. He can put one word in front of another in exactly the right order in the most unpretentious and unstartling way, so as to convey the very clear sense of his extravagant and startling ideas.

These stories can be very challenging. When you start one, you never know what your are letting yourself in for. Anything could happen. It’s like venturing into the unknown.

How brave are you feeling today?

Vanessa Wu is the author of Love Has No Limits

2 Responses to "The Salvador Dali of Prose"

Gene Wolf certainly is a master
My personal favorite
“The Shadow of the Torturer”
Calls me back again and again
You have excellent taste.
.
I see you also love Duras’ “The Lover”
I was originally drawn in by the movie
I then read several of her books
And a rather enlightening biography
What a wicked woman with a sad ending
.
Duras wrote several versions of “The Lover”
I preferred “The North China Lover”
It seemed more maturely written
Marguerite Duras as sensual as Gauguin
Perhaps a bit more pragmatic
.
yamabuki Zhou

My taste is only as good as the people who share it. 🙂

The shadow of the torturer looms very large in the body of works I admire.

Duras is a true artist with words and feelings, a very deep and sensual writer. I have always been drawn to her works, though her language is a bit difficult for me.

Do you have something to get off your chest?

Books by Vanessa Wu

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30,180 other followers

Twitter

