intense sensations

Sinister Mr. Conan Doyle

Posted on: August 20, 2011

The Adventures of Sherlock HolmesThe Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I am deeply, deeply interested in the man who wrote these singular stories. He had a fiendish imagination and a gift for rendering the prosaic poetic. It is not just Sherlock Holmes who comes alive on the page. Every supporting character is vividly drawn. Every detail, every sentence, every word resonates with terrible urgency as if the author’s life depended on them. There is suspense in every line and when I read them I feel as if I am being hypnotized. How does he do that? It’s sinister but brilliant.

View all my reviews

2 Responses to "Sinister Mr. Conan Doyle"

Oh, I agree! I love the Sherlock Holmes stories. I read the entire canon recently, and was awestruck at how good the writing is and how accessible to the modern reader. Until then, I’d only seen TV and film versions of Sherlock, and didn’t realize how incredible the source material is.

Yes, his sentences are surprisingly simple, yet gripping. I am sometimes irritated when I read modern Sherlock Holmes stories. His admirers borrow the characters but they can’t match his narrative prowess.

Do you have something to get off your chest?

Books by Vanessa Wu

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30,179 other followers

Twitter

