intense sensations

Hot but not Chinesey enough for me

Posted on: August 4, 2011

Under the Canopy of LoveUnder the Canopy of Love by Vanessa Wu
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I liked this story better than the last one I read by this author, which was called Love on the Rebound (terrible title, by the way.) The heroine in Under the Canopy of Love is more likeable, not so desperate and less of a slut. There is also an attempt to introduce some real story-telling into the narrative. As the relationship between the two characters develops, you begin to get a sense of what goes on in their minds when they are not being driven purely by lust. The story is quite thoughtfully constructed and there is even a little motif in it, a subtle moral, that is quite uplifting in spite of the adulterous theme. It’s like an erotic Aesop’s fable, or Confucius for sex addicts. Still, it only gets 4 stars from me because I think this writer can do a lot better. I’m going to keep an eye out for her future stories because I think she’s holding the best of herself back. I’d like to see more of a Chinese theme please, Ms. Wu. Write about what you know!

View all my reviews

Do you have something to get off your chest?

Books by Vanessa Wu

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30,179 other followers

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

