intense sensations

Bedtimes have never been so good

Posted on: August 3, 2011

The New Rakes (Black Lace)The New Rakes by Nikki Magennis
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Nikki Magennis is a poet who is very much in touch with her feelings and, I discovered, very much in touch with mine. The opening chapter of this book made my jaw drop open. Not just my jaw as a matter of fact. The descriptions of hot, urgent sex are vivid and convincing because the use of language is very subtle and skilful.

I identified very strongly with Kara. I spent a good few days reading this book because I wanted to savour it. In my experience it’s rare to encounter language this good in a novel of this kind.

OK, don’t run away with the idea that it’s full of fancy metaphors. It isn’t. That’s its strength. It’s raw and simple. The background of the story is entirely credible but painted in broad, clean brushstrokes that allow the characters to come to the fore. The scenes are filled with drama and tension; it’s an emphatically erotic tension and it’s sustained for the duration of the narrative. These are virtues that can easily be underestimated.

There is a powerful literary intelligence at work here and I was delighted to be able to surrender myself to it again and again. I trusted it completely and I wasn’t once disappointed.

I am going to search out more of Nikki’s work. I think I need to be careful, though, because I could easily become addicted.

View all my reviews

Do you have something to get off your chest?

Books by Vanessa Wu

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30,179 other followers

Twitter

