intense sensations

The etiquette of masturbation

Posted on: July 22, 2011

Original BlissOriginal Bliss by A.L. Kennedy

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I have chosen to mention this book for several reasons.

1. I have it open on my bed.

2. Today I read A.L. Kennedy’s blog in The Guardian and was struck by her disdain for marketing her own books. Let me do it for you, Alison, I need the practice. (See footnote).

3. We are always told that people don’t buy short stories. Ahem! I bought these short stories. That proves something, doesn’t it? I would rather read Original Bliss than all her other books put together. Or even just Everything You Need.

4. Any novella that begins with an Open University broadcast on the etiquette of masturbation deserves a mention at the very least.

My conclusion is that A.L. Kennedy is a very good writer who is a little odd. But then we’re all a little odd, aren’t we, Alison? See footnote.

Footnote:

WHAT’S YOUR NAME? Oh, all right – it’s Alison Louise and it’s not a secret, never was – I just have a pen name and a real name. It also massively entertains a certain brand of person to be able to call me Alison with special emphasis as if we were the bestest pals in all the world. And it’s nice to be able to please someone without trying – even if it’s someone odd. For reasons unknown to me, many folk in the lovely world of comedy call me Al.

http://www.a-l-kennedy.co.uk/index.php/f…

View all my reviews

Do you have something to get off your chest?

Books by Vanessa Wu

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30,178 other followers

Twitter

