intense sensations

Beware used condoms

Posted on: July 18, 2011

Sam the CatSam the Cat by Matthew Klam
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I picked this up second-hand. It was published in 2000. It has 6 rainbow-coloured condoms on the front, still in their wrappers and 3 on the back no longer in their wrappers, possibly used.

For this reason I give it 3 stars. If all six condoms had been used it would have got 5 stars, because 5 is the max.

This gives you an idea of the kind of blokish insights and humour to expect. Is this fashionable? Maybe it was eleven years ago. Maybe not even then.

It’s written in colloquial American, which means the sentences are short and many of them contain words like fucknob, asshole, goddamn and aborto. (Yes, I know the last one is Spanish, I’m not a fucknob.)

I guess this means it’s literary fiction. One of these stories appeared in the New Yorker, which kind of seals it.

I didn’t dislike it but next time I will be more careful about what I pick up.

View all my reviews

Do you have something to get off your chest?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26.6K other subscribers