intense sensations

I’ve received an award!

Posted on: September 17, 2011

This week I got a bit of a shock when I received The Versatile Blogger Award from a woman of exceptional versatility and exquisite taste. Her name is Guilie Castillo and if you look at her blog you’ll see at once that it’s far more versatile than mine. She has pictures and stories, daily writing tips, flowers, things to inspire you and links to some very high-class sites. She even has a zen corner. All I have are book reviews, with the occasional interlude like this. So I’d like to thank Guilie for being so generous and broad-minded. In accepting this award I have agreed to do the following 3 things:

1. Thank the awarder and link back to her

2. Share 7 things about myself

3. Pass this award to 15 blogs I’ve recently discovered.

Here are 7 things about me that I’ve not revealed anywhere else, not even in my highly private, secret, sensational and shockingly semi-autobiographical erotic writings (available now from all good ebook distributors).

1. I’ve seen Chungking Express 3 times but didn’t like it until the 3rd time, when I loved it.

2. Chungking Express reminds me of my early sexual encounters.

3. I can put myself into a trance in under 15 seconds.

4. A fortune teller told me I would never be rich but I would always bring fortune to my lovers.

5. Lovers who betray me die within 7 months.

6. When I’m sad I listen to Sa Ding Ding

7. I have 3 red silk scarves tied loosely to the headboard of my bed. (Most of the time.)

That completes parts 1 & 2 of this onerous award. (Why couldn’t they just give money?) The final part, linking to 15 other lucky bloggers, will come tomorrow.

12 Responses to "I’ve received an award!"

I have to say I’m always impressed by how insightful, eloquent and honest your reviews are. Thank you, Vanessa. This is high praise indeed from an exceptional blogger. One who doesn’t preach or bleat, merely offers informed opinion. Love it! :) x

Thank you, Sheryl, and good luck with your rom com cookbook and other projects! Your dogs are adorable.

Congratulations Vanessa, and I’m so pleased that you picked up Sheryl’s contributions. She’s a grafter, and talented too. Good luck and well done both.

Haha! She may work very hard but she has the Goddess gene so the hard work is optional.

You’re hilarious, “why couldn’t they just give me money?” Ha!

eden

Congrats, Vanessa – you do stand out as a reviewer, I’m not surprised folks with awards to give noticed that, too.

Vanessa, the award is very well deserved :) I also wished for cash (LOL), or even just the funky green square… But — of course — these things come with strings ;) And, the advantage for me as awarder is that now I have ANOTHER 15 new blogs to visit :) Thanks for accepting and passing it on!

P.S. — Your kind words about my own blog have been duly noted in the Karma book of good deeds :)

I have an ardent interest in cross-cultural, multi-disciplinary, genre-bending artistic fusion, so of course I was attracted to your blog early on, Guilie.

Thank you very much for the award! :)

Happy to hear you liked The Empty City and my blog, although it’s less personal than I’d like.

I know several writers who have great blogs and unlike me, put some effort into it. :) I will award them this little ribbon.

I think it’s really cool that ChungKing Express reminds you of such important episodes of your life, and that you liked it in the end.

I love it too, and its sister film Fallen Angels, which is darker (and hard to find on DVD, or at least it was hard to find a few years back.)

Your unfaithful lovers dying after 7 months, now that is a story in itself! Sounds a little scary, and should be a good warning to any would be unfaithful.

Thank you again.

Your blog is minimalism at its best, Berit. I haven’t seen Fallen Angels. I will try. I have seen In the Mood For Love twice. And I have the soundtrack. :-D This is more mainstream but very beautiful, by the same director, Wong Kar Wai.

Do you have something to get off your chest?

Books by Vanessa Wu

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31,147 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31,147 other followers

