intense sensations

An intriguing Malaysian story

Posted on: August 16, 2011

The Love DrugThe Love Drug by Vanessa Wu
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The author is apparently making an effort with this story to explore her cultural heritage. I like that about it. The main character is a thirty-something Chinese woman who has so far failed to find romance, let alone love. Is there a hint of autobiography here? The story is set in Malaysia, which is intriguing, since the author claims to have been born in China. Perhaps she is trying to give the impression that she is widely-travelled.

The style is quite literary and not very modern. I suspect the author is either old or old-fashioned, possibly both. At times I could almost have been reading a story by Joseph Conrad or Somerset Maugham. Not bad influences to have, I suppose, if you can carry it off, though hardly contemporary.

You have to wait a long time for the sex scenes. This will probably condemn it to being largely unread. That would be a shame, since the sex scenes are really well done and, personally, I enjoyed the slow and atmospheric build up.

In fact I could have gone on reading for far longer. The ending was a little abrupt. I think there are the seeds of a novel here. I would like to read more from this promising writer. But is she young or old? Hard to tell. If she’s old she might not have much left in her.

I do hope she’s young and full of vigour. I’d like to read something really wild by her, with all caution thrown to the wind.

View all my reviews

Do you have something to get off your chest?

Books by Vanessa Wu

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 31,028 other followers

Twitter

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31,028 other followers

